The congregation of the Lutheran Church of Our Saviour at 2415 Chili Ave. had a humble start. In 1941, a small group of less than 20 people began holding Sunday School in the nearby Gates Chili firehouse and worship services at the Washington Irving School. A simple wooden church was erected on the current site, with the first service held in it November 1945.
In 1946, the charter members had enough stewardship money to hire, Reverend Lyle W. Halvorson as pastor. He remained with the congregation for nearly 20 years.
In 1960 ground was broken for the current building with its unique and inspiring stained glass window, and the first service in it June 1961.
In 1965 a new pastor, Reverend A. Sidney Kitts, joined the Church. He served the congregation for 25 years. In 1965 preschool (nursery school) was started with Bettie Curry. In 1966, the original church building was demolished. Two years later (1968) church members broke ground on a new wing for more classrooms, a library, fellowship area, and made all levels accessible to parking lots, with the upper level handicapped accessible.
In 1973 Our Saviour Child Development Center Daycare was established with Sharon Yackel as director.
Dell Hall was erected in 1974 as a place to hold fellowship activities, service projects such as Crop Walk, and summer vacation Bible school. In 1977 the Church left the Missouri Synod and is in 1987 became a member of the Evangelical Lutheran Church of America, ELCA.
In 1988 the handbell choir started.
In 1991, Pastor Paul E. Shoop answered the call to lead the parish. He served until 2003. During his tenure, the Church also undertook another major building program to make its facilities handicapped accessible between floors with an elevator, added daycare rooms & larger gathering area. Boy Scout Troop & Pack 243 started meeting at the church September 2003.
Reverend Joachim Wilck became the Church’s pastor in 2004. The Summer Thursday night outside service, and Contemporary Sunday service became standard. In 2004 & 2005 Jerry Stich installed both a FM Broadcast and an audio loop for the hearing impaired.
Under Pastor Wilck’s tenure ministries; outreach were added to the congregation. Alpha courses, inviting non-Christians and inquires were added in 2010 allowing all participants to experience and learn about Christianity. A pray shawl ministry, for service men and women as well as shut-ins and hospitalized, was initiated in 2009.
The Our Saviour Day Care Center that was housed in our church closed 2014. In 1973, Our Saviour Child Development Center Daycare was established as part of the church outreach, and eventually was split off as a separate entity. It continued to operate at The Lutheran Church of Our Saviour location until 2014, when it closed due to declining enrollment.
Due to declining enrollment, 2015 was the last year for The Church Of Our Saviour preschool. In 1965 The Lutheran Church of Our Saviour preschool (nursery school) was started with Bettie Curry.